Home

who we are
news
local alerts
calendar
contacts
newsletters
directions
bylaws

chapter

enviro links

 

  National Club:
take action
sierraclub.org
 
 

Join in the Fun
Visit the calendar page to find out which great outings you want to go on!
 
x
Links to Environmental Organizations/ Info

Recent Links

The Climate Project (TCP) is an international non-profit organization
founded by Nobel Laureate and former Vice President Al Gore, dedicated to
preserving the climate balance on which the world depends. Our mission is
to raise public awareness of the current climate crisis through our 2,600
volunteers from around the world, all of whom have been personally trained
by Mr. Gore to educate the public on climate change. TCP presenters give a
version of the slide show featured in the Academy-Award winning film *An
Inconvenient Truth* and have reached a combined audience of more than 5
million people worldwide. www.theclimateproject.org

State and Local Groups

Alabama Arise - http://www.alarise.org/

Alabama Black Bear Alliance http://www.alawild.org/abba.html

Alabama Chapter of the Sierra Club http://www.alabama.sierraclub.org/

Alabama Environmental Council http://www.aeconline.ws/

Alabama Hiking Society http://www.alabamatrail.org/

Alabama League of Environmental Action Voters (ALALEAVS) http://www.alaleavs.org/

Alabama Natural Heritage Program http://www.natureserve.org/nhp/us/al/

Alabama Ornithological Society http://www.bham.net/aos/

Alabama Partners for Clean Air http://www.alabamacleanair.com/

Alabama Rivers Alliance http://www.alabamarivers.org/

Alabama Shoals Audubon Society - http://home.hiwaay.net/~wjrogers/

Alabama Sierra Club Chapter Sites Coastal - http://www.sierraclub.org/chapters/al/coastal.html

Alabama Treasure Forest Association http://www.atfa.net/

Alabama Urban Forestry Association http://www.aufa.com/

Alabama Water and Pollution Control Association http://www.awpca.net/

Alabama Water Watch http://www.auburn.edu/aww

Alabama Wildflower Advisory Committee http://www.auburn.edu/awac/

Alabama Wildflower Society - http://www.alabamawildlflower.org

Alabama Wildlife Federation http://www.alawild.org/

Alabama Wildlife Rehabilitation Center http://www.alawildliferehab.org/

Aldridge Gardens http://www.aldridgegardens.com/

American Lung Association of Alabama - http://www.alabamalung.org/

Anniston Natural History Museum http://www.annistonmuseum.org/

Audubon Bird Sanctuary on Dauphin Island http://dauphinisland.org/bird.htm

Black-Warrior Cahaba Rivers Land Trust - http://www.lta.org/findlandtrust/AL2.htm#Black Warrior-Cahaba Rivers Land Trust

Birmingham Audubon Society - http://www.BirminghamAudubon.org

Birmingham Grotto http://www.caves.org/grotto/bag/

Cahaba River Society http://www.cahabariversociety.org/

Camp McDowell Environmental Center http://www.campmcdowell.com/

Chattowah Open Land Trust http://www.chattowah.org/

Citizens Lead Education Elimination Project http://www.bham.com/SOE/clepp/

Creekside Consulting - http://www.creeksideinc.com/

The Dahlia Society of Alabama http://www.mindspring.com/~jmurphy/index.html

Dauphin Island Sea Lab http://www.disl.org/

Discovering Alabama - http://www.discoveringalabama.com/

Dismals Canyon http://www.dismalscanyon.com/

Dog River Clearwater Revival http://www.usouthal.edu/geography/fearn/DRCR.htm

Dothan Area Botanical Gardens http://www.dabg.com/

Ducks Unlimited http://www.ducks.org/

Environmental Education Association of Alabama www.aces.edu/eeaa

Five Mile Action Committee, Inc. http://www.geocities.com/RainForest/Andes/6313/

Friends of Locust Fork http://www.flfr.org/

Friends of Terrapin Creek - http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Rhodes/5980/fotc.html

Gopher Tortoise Council - http://www.gophertortoisecouncil.org/

Heart of Dixie Orchid Society http://www.h-o-d-o-s.org/

The Hummer/Bird Study Group http://www.hummingbirdsplus.org/

Huntsville Botanical Gardens http://hsvbg.org/

Jerry Spenser's Mt. Laurel Organics - http://www.mtlaurelorganics.com/

Jones Valley Urban Farm http://www.jvuf.org/

JSU Environmental Policy and Information Center - www.jsu.edu/depart/epic

LakeWatch http://www.lakewatch.org/

Landmark Park (Dothan, Alabama) - http://www.landmarkpark.com/

Land Trust of Huntsville and North Alabama http://www.landtrust-hsv.org/

Legacy http://www.legacyenved.com/

Legal Environmental Assistance Foundation (LEAF) http://www.leaf-envirolaw.org/

Marine & Estuarine Environmental Education http://www.faulknerstate.edu/meer

Mobile Bay - Group of the Sierra Club: http://www.sierraclub.org/chapters/al/mobile.html

Mobile Bay National Estuary Program - http://www.mobilebaynep.com/

Mobile Bay Watch - http://www.mobilebaywatch.org/

Nature Conservancy of Alabama - http://nature.org/states/alabama

North Alabama - Group of the Sierra Club: http://alabama.sierraclub.org/na.html

Project Rose - http://www.eng.ua.edu/~prose

Red Rain Store
http://www.redrainstore.com/

Region 2020 http://www.region2020.org/

Ruffner Mountain http://www.bham.net/ruffner

Save Our Saugahatchee http://www.auburn.edu/~estribh/sos/sos/

Sierra Club - Coosa Club - http://alabama.sierraclub.org/coosa.html

SIFAT (Servants In Faith and Technology) http://www.sifat.org/

Smith Lake Environmental Preservation Committee http://www.ag.auburn.edu/grassroots/slepc/

South Alabama Birding Association http://www.alaweb.com/~kenwood/saba/index.html

Southeastern Cave Conservancy http://www.scci.org/

Southeastern Raptor Rehabilitation Center - http://www.vetmed.auburn.edu/raptor

Southern Environmental Center at Birmingham Southern College http://www.bsc.edu/sec

Southern Sustainable Forests Alliance - http://www.southernsustainableforests.org/

Sustainable Alabama Design Intiative http://www.sustainablealabama.org

Tennessee Valley Audubon Society - http://fly.hiwaay.net/~pgibson/tvas/

Warrior Clean Water Initiative http://www.warriorcwp.org/

Waste Reduction and Technology Transfer (WRATT) Foundation http://www.wratt.org/

Weeks Bay Reserve Foundation - http://www.weeksbay.org/

Weiss Lake Improvement Association http://www.weisslake.org/

West Alabama - Group of the Sierra Club: http://www.sierraclub.org/chapters/al/west-al.html

Wild Alabama http://www.wildalabama.com/

WildLaw http://www.wildlaw.org/

Wolf Bay Watershed Watch http://www.wolfbay.org/

Regional Groups

Dogwood Alliance http://www.dogwoodalliance.org/

Legal Environmental Assistance Foundation (LEAF) http://www.leaf-envirolaw.org/

National Speleological Society http://www.caves.org/

Southern Alliance for Clean Energy http://www.safc.org/

Southern Appalachian Forest Coalition http://www.safc.org/

Southern Environmental Law Center http://www.southernenvironment.org/

Southeastern Cave Conservancy http://www.scci.org/

Southface http://www.southface.org/

National Groups

Alliance to Save Energy http://www.ase.org/

American Rivers - http://www.amrivers.org/

Americans for Our Heritage and Recreation http://www.ahrinfo.org/

American Lung Association http://www.lungusa.org/

B.A.S.S. http://www.bassmaster.com/

Bat Conservation International
http://www.batcon.org/

Center for Responsive Politics http://www.opensecrets.org/states/index/al.htm

Cool Communities - http://www.coolcommunities.org/

Friends of the Earth http://www.foe.org/

Earth Day Network - http://www.earthday.net/

Earth Ministry - http://earthministry.org/

Endangered Species Coalition - http://www.stopextinction.org/

Environmental Defense Fund - http://www.edf.org/

EPA Office of Water - http://www.epa.gov/ow

Evangelicals For Social Action- http://www.esa-online.org/

Facing the Future - http://www.facingthefuture.org/

GREEN - Grassroots Environmental Effectiveness Network - http://www.defenders.org/grnhome.html

Green Earth Journal - http://www.greenjournal.com/

League of Conservation Voters - http://www.lcv.org/

Millennium Trails - http://www.millenniumtrails.org/

National Arbor Day Foundation
http://www.arborday.org/

National Association of Conservatrion Districts - http://www.nacdnet.org/

National Audubon Society - http://www.audubon.org/

National Environmental Data Index - http://www.nedi.gov

National Environmental Trust - http://environet.org/

National Religious Partnership for the Environment - http://www.nrpe.org/

National Wildlife Federation - http://www.nwf.org/

Nationwide Rivers Inventory - http://www.ncrc.nps.gov/programs/rtca/nri

Outdoor Industry Association - http://www.outdoorindustry.org/

Outdoors Online - http://www.outdoors.net/

Public Employees for Environmental Responsibility (PEER) http://www.peer.org/

Public Health/Drinking Water - http://www.waterqualityreports.org/

Republicans for Environmental Protection http://www.rep.org/

Right to Know Network - http://www.rtk.net/

Society of Environmental Journalists - http://www.sej.org/

State Environmental Leadership Program (SELP) - http://www.selp.org/

Taxpayers for Common Sense - http://www.taxpayer.net/

Trust for Public Land http://www.tpl.org/

U.S. Public Interest Research Group (USPIRG) http://www.pirg.org/

Union of Concerned Scientists - http://www.ucsusa.org/

U.S. PIRG (Public Interest Research Group) - http://www.pirg.org/

Wilderness Society http://www.tws.org/

World Resources Institute - http://www.wri.org/

Zero Population Growth (ZPG) http://www.zpg.org/

This list is taken from www.bamanews.com

Please send any links you would like to include in this list to sierra@joewatts.com